The Pet Shop Boys Announce Expanded Reissues of Some of Their Best Work

The Pet Shop Boys Announce Expanded Reissues of Some of Their Best Work

Be first to like this.

Fans of the Pet Shop Boys: Your day has just gotten so much better. The band has announced expanded reissues of their entire Parlophone catalogue. From their debut Please all the way up to Elysium, the records are all getting remastered with a bonus disc of B-sides, unreleased songs and demos.

If you’ve had the 2001 “Further Listening” reissues of the first six albums — you already know what to expect. These editions were the canonical versions of their albums. Not only did they have the bonus disc containing a full album’s worth of rarities, the albums contained a thick booklet where Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe go over every song.


Unfortunately the original series of reissues ended with 1996’s Bilingual. Though Bilingual is an underrated peak for the band, 1999’s Nightlife was similarly outstanding. After all, that album formed the backbone of the Pet Shop Boys’ musical Closer to Heaven. Though we can understand the reason to not include it in the 2001 reissues — it’d only come out two years prior — it’s certainly worthy of the “Further Listening” treatment.

Thankfully, now, it, along with Release and Fundamental, are first on the slate of re-issues. And as if they’re making up for the delay, both Nightlife and Release are getting an extra disc of “Further Listening.” (Fundamental will only get one disc of bonus material.)

The reissues are available for pre-order starting today, and they’ll be released July 28. The rest of the reissues will follow over the next year. The albums are all being released digitally and on 180 gram vinyl.

The tracklistings for the reissues are:

Nightlife / Further Listening: 1996-2000

1. For Your Own Good
2. Closer To Heaven
3. I Don’t Know What You Want But I Can’t Give It Any More
4. Happiness Is An Option
5. You Only Tell Me You Love Me When You’re Drunk
6. Vampires
7. Radiophonic
8. The Only One
9. Boy Strange
10. In Denial
11. New York City Boy
12. Footsteps

1. Vampires (Demo)
2. For All Of Us (Demo)
3. Call Me Old-Fashioned (Demo)
4. Friendly Fire
5. Believe/Song For Guy (Featuring Elton John)
6. Sail Away
7. It Doesn’t Often Snow At Christmas (Fan club mix)
8. Nightlife
9. Playing In The Streets
10. Tall Thin Men
11. Radiophonic (Demo)

1. Somebody Else’s Business
2. Silver Age
3. Screaming
4. For All Of Us
5. The Ghost Of Myself
6. Casting A Shadow
7. I Don’t Know What You Want But I Can’t Give It Any More (The PSB Extension)
8. Was It Worth It? (Live)
9. Lies
10. Paris City Boy (Full French)
11. Positive Role Model
12. Somebody Else’s Business (Extended mix)

Release / Further Listening: 2001-2004

1. Home And Dry
2. I Get Along
3. Birthday Boy
4. London
5. E-mail
6. The Samurai In Autumn
7. Love Is A Catastrophe
8. Here
9. The Night I Fell In Love
10. You Choose

1. Between Two Islands
2. Searching For The Face Of Jesus
3. Time On My Hands
4. Motoring (Demo)
5. Love Life
6. Transparent
7. Sexy Northerner
8. The Night Is A Time To Explore Who You Are (Demo)
9. Closer To Heaven (Slow Version)
10. Run, Girl, Run (Demo)
11. I Didn’t Get Where I Am Today
12. Always
13. Home And Dry (Ambient Mix)
14. Bright Young Things (Demo)
15. Kazak
16. A Powerful Friend (John Peel Version)
17. If Looks Could Kill (John Peel Version)

1. Try It (I’m In Love With A Married Man)
2. Here (PSB New Extended Mix)
3. If Looks Could Kill
4. A Powerful Friend
5. Party Song
6. No Excuse (Demo)
7. Blue On Blue
8. Jack And Jill Party (Demo)
9. Baby (Demo)
10. Flamboyant (Original Demo)
11. Miracles
12. Flamboyant (7″ Mix)
13. Numb (Demo)
14. In Private (Featuring Elton John)
15. Alone Again, Naturally (Featuring Elton John)
16. Reunion (Electro Mix)
17. Bright Young Things
18. We’re The Pet Shop Boys
19. It’s A Sin (Barfly Version)

Fundamental / Further Listening: 2005-2007

1. Psychological
2. The Sodom And Gomorrah Show
3. I Made My Excuses And Left
4. Minimal
5. Numb
6. God Willing
7. Luna Park
8. I’m With Stupid
9. Casanova In Hell
10. Twentieth Century
11. Indefinite Leave To Remain
12. Integral

1. Fugitive (Richard X Extended Mix)
2. Ring Road (Demo)
3. The Performance Of My Life (Demo)
4. One-way Street (Demo)
5. Girls Don’t Cry
6. The Resurrectionist
7. The Sodom And Gomorrah Show (Original Demo)
8. Dancing In The Dusk (Demo)
9. After The Event
10. The Former Enfant Terrible
11. No Time For Tears (Orchestral Mix)
12. God Willing (Original Full-Length Mix)
13. I’m With Stupid (PSB Maxi-Mix)
14. Answer The Phone! (Ringtone)
15. Where Are You? (Ringtone)
16. Water (Ringtone)
17. Numb (Single Edit)
18. One Night
19. A Certain “Je Ne Sais Quoi”
20. Transfer (Visionaire Mix)
21. Integral (PSB Perfect Immaculate 7″ Mix)
22. Integral (PSB Perfect Immaculate Mix)

Related Stories

Serial Mom: Some Secrets About John Waters' Murderous Mother's Day Classic
Fandom and the Internet Are Responsible for the Existence of Queer Anime and Manga
Here Are All the 'Harry Potter' Stars Who Have Responded to JK Rowling's Transphobia
Looking for Digital Queer Erotica? Here's Where You'll Find Some of the Best