This August, Scissor Sisters’ Jake Shears Is Dropping the Album of the Summer Music

This August, Scissor Sisters’ Jake Shears Is Dropping the Album of the Summer

Written by Matt Keeley on May 25, 2018
Be first to like this.

Late last year, Jake Shears of everyone’s favorite retro-disco act Scissor Sisters released his first solo single, “Creep City.” At the time, there was no other information available; we knew a Jake Shears solo album was coming sometime, but we didn’t know its name, cover art, release date or, well, anything other than that “Creep City” was a total banger. But now the wait is over — the imaginatively titled Jake Shears is coming out Aug. 10.

What we know about the new Jake Shears solo album

jake shears solo album cover
The cover of the new Jake Shears solo album.

In a tweet this morning, Jake Shears revealed everything about his new album. In addition to the cover and release date, he also included the track-listing in the form of the artwork for the vinyl editions’ labels. The tracklisting is:

  1. Good Friends
  2. Big Bushy Mustache
  3. Sad Song Backwards
  4. Everything I’ll Ever Need
  5. All For What
  6. S.O.B.
  7. Creep City
  8. The Bruiser
  9. Clothes Off
  10. Palace in the Sky
  11. Mississippi Delta (I’m Your Man)

And, if that weren’t enough, he also released the very first music video from the album for the aforementioned “Creep City.” The video was shot in New Orleans and features Shears performing in an intimate, packed cabaret. It’s sexy, evocative with just a little bit of seediness — or, if you’ll pardon the pun, the aesthetic is “Filthy/Gorgeous.” It was directed by Mac Boucher, who is best known as Grimes’ collaborator (and brother).

Aside from a one-off single, “SWERLK,” Scissor Sisters has been on hiatus since 2012’s fantastic Magic Hour. But Shears has been busy in all that time; he’s not only appeared on Broadway in Kinky Boots, he also just released a memoir, Boys Keep Swinging.

Watch “Creep City,” the debut music video from the upcoming Jake Shears solo album below:

Jake Shears is out Aug. 10 on digital, CD and vinyl. Are you looking forward to hear the new Jake Shears solo album? Let us know in the comments.

Read more stories by just signing up

or Download the App to read the latest stories

Already a member? Log in